Reading Challenge

All year my social media feeds are flooded with new challenges people are signing up for: abs, real food, writing, not shaving, remembering to take out the trash. What have you.

I can honestly say that I’ve literally never cared about any of them. You go girl with your 30 days of crunches. I’ll be over here binge-watching The Good Wife on Amazon Prime Video. (I see what all the hype is now about that show! I mean, Christine Baranski’s jewelry alone is worth the watch. Those chunky rings. But I think Julianna Margulies is too hard on her daughter about the faith stuff.)

ANYWHO.

The other day I finally saw one I could get behind:

2015-Reading-Challenge

I LOVE reading. It’s all I want to do on vacation or a plane. Or a train if I ever rode those. But with a toddler and infant and full-time job and two dogs and dishes and Facebook and Netflix, I’ve found it increasingly difficult to find time or energy to read. I’m also a rather slow reader, so it takes me awhile to finish something even when I do find time. I have 121 books on my Goodreads to-read list. I have stacks of books in the house that I’ve been meaning to read for years.

So when I saw this challenge (from a website called Modern Mrs. Darcy, shared by The Art of Simple), I was intrigued. I liked the categories, and it sounded like something that would motivate me to CREATE time to read, to really make it a priority. But in a fun way, not a 30-days-of-crunches way.

First on my list is Interrupted, by Jen Hatmaker. I’m putting that in the “book by a favorite author” category because I adore her writing. And because the Kindle version was on sale the other day for $1.99.

And since one of the categories is “a book recommended by someone with great taste,” I’d love your book recommendations. Because I’ve managed to surround myself with people who have great taste.

I was also drawn to this challenge because, while I’m not making any resolutions this year, I do want to try and live more intentionally in 2015. Making decisions and spending time on things and people I really care about. Hopefully that will also include more posts here. But it definitely won’t include a month of crunches. Just to be clear.

P.S. – If you’re like me and feel like you don’t have the time, check out Austin Kleon’s 7 tips on how to read more.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Reading Challenge

  1. […] first book I chose for my 2015 Reading Challenge was “Interrupted: When Jesus Wrecks Your Comfortable Christianity,” by Austin’s […]

  2. […] months in on my 2015 Reading Challenge, and I’m feeling pretty good, having already finished three books. And that doesn’t […]

  3. […] a year ago when I wrote about a 12-book reading challenge that I wanted to tackle for 2015, and it seemed totally realistic, and I began by reading three […]

Leave a Reply

